Paul Henson Appleby was born in Greene County, Missouri on September 13, 1891, to Andrew B. and Mary (Johnson) Appleby. He earned his A.B. from Grinnell College in 1913. He married Ruth Meyer on October 4, 1916. The couple had three children, Margaret Finley, Mary Ellen Sarbaugh, and L. Tom.

Appleby began his career as a newspaper publisher in Montana, Minnesota, and Iowa from 1914 through 1920. He was the editor of Iowa Magazine in Waterloo, Iowa from 1920-1924 and an editorial writer at the Des Moines Register and Tribune from 1924 until 1928. The family moved to Virginia in 1928 where Appleby again worked as a newspaper publisher until accepting a position with the U.S. government. Appleby served as the Executive Assistant to the Secretary of Agriculture from 1933 through 1940 and the Under Secretary of Agriculture from 1940 until 1944. He was also the Assistant Director of the U.S. Bureau of the Budget from 1944 through 1947. In 1947, Appleby moved to Syracuse, New York and became the Dean of the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs.

Appleby also served as the Chief of the Food Mission to Great Britain in 1941-1942, chair of the International Wheat Conference in 1942, chair of the International Wheat Council from 1942 through 1944, Special Assistant to the Lend-Lease administrator from 1942-1943, and the Special Assistant to the Secretary of State in 1943. He was the U.S. delegate to the Hot Springs Food Conference in 1943, the U.S. member of the Interim Committee on Food and Agriculture for 1943-1944, a member of the Contributions Committee of the United Nations in 1946, a member of the board o the Institute of Public Affairs from 1947-1950, a board member of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Foundation in 1953, and other boards.

Paul H. Appleby died in 1963.

  • Big Democracy, 1945
  • Policy and Administration, 1949
  • Public Administration in India: A Report of a Survey, 1953
  • Re-examination of India’s Administrative System, 1956
  • Public Administration of a Welfare State, 1961
  • Citizens as Sovereigns, 1962
  • Morality and Administration in Democratic Government, 1969


Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu, President of IIPA honored the following members with the Paul H. Appleby Award for their distinguished services to the Institute and to the field of Public Administration at the Annual General Body Meeting held on 26th October, 2018:

Dr. Vivek K. Agnihotri

Prof. Upendra Baxi

Prof. Nand L. Dhameja

Shri Ajit Kumar Doval

Dr. P.R. Dubhashi

Shri S.G. Kale

Shri B.S. Ojha

Prof. A. Ranga Reddy

Shri R.C. Tripathi

Shri T.N. Chaturvedi got education at University of Allahabad where he took his degrees in M.A. L.LB. He joined the Indian Administrative Service in 1950, and was allotted the Rajasthan cadre. On deputation with the Government of India, he worked as Joint Director, National Academy of Administration; Chief Secretary, Delhi Administration; Chief Commissioner, Chandigarh; Director, Indian Institute of Public Administration; Secretary, Ministry of Education, Culture and Sports; and Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs. He was sworn in as Comptroller and Auditor General of India in 1984. He served the Rajya Sabha for two terms i.e. from 1992 and 1998.

He was Chairman, Standing Committee on Industries and Member, Committees on Defence and External Affairs. He was elected to the Executive Board of UNESCO in 2000. He was the Governor of Karnataka from 2002 to 2007. He was also the Governor of Kerala in 2004. He also served as Chairman of the Executive Committee, Nehru Memorial Museum and Library. He is currently Chairman, Indian Institute of Public Administration; Chairman, Institute for Studies in Industrial Development; Chairman, The Lala Dewan Chand Trust; and Chairman, Society for Indian Ocean Studies. He has authored two books and edited many more.

The many honours he received include the Plaque of Appreciation for his contribution to public audit and public administration by Eastern Region Organisation of Public Administration (EROPA), Manila in 1987. He was awarded the Padma Vibhushan by the President of India for his contribution to public affairs in 1990. He has been conferred honorary degrees by the Lal Bahadur Sanskrit Vidyapeeth, New Delhi and by Panjab University, Chandigarh.


Recipient of:

-Plaque of Appreciation for his contribution to public audit and public administration by Eastern Region-Organisation of Public Administration (EROPA), Manila (1987)

-President of India awarded the Padma Vibhushan (1991)

-Manav Sewa Award (1999)

-Conferred with honorary degrees by the Lal Bahadur Sanskrit Vidyapeeth, New Delhi and by Panjab University, Chandigarh (2000)

IIPA Publications Edited by Shri TN Chaturvedi
Administration for child welfare, edited by T. N Chaturvedi.1979
Secrecy in government. edited by T. N. Chaturvedi1980
Administration for the disabled: policy and organisational issues. edited by T.N. Chaturvedi.1981
District Administration. edited by T. N. Chaturvedi.1981
Social administration development and change: essays in honour of Professor V.Jagannadham. edited by T.N. Chaturvedi and Shanti Kohli Chandra1981
Police Administration. edited by T. N. Chaturvedi and S. Venugopal Rao1982
Administrative reforms, edited by T.N. Chaturvedi. (IIPA Silver Jubilee).1984
Development administration. edited by T.N. Chaturvedi.1984
Local Government,  edited by T.N. Chaturvedi1984
Administrative theory. edited by T.N. Chaturvedi1984
Citizen and administration. edited by T.N. Chaturvedi1984
Administrative accountability. edited by T.N. Chaturvedi1984
Financial administration, edited by K.L. Handa and T.N. Chaturvedi1986
Contemporary administrative culture of India. edited by T. N. Chaturvedi1996
List of IIPA Publications including working papers, project reports, IIPA branch publication books, and lectures etc., edited by Shri TN Chaturvedi
Citizen and municipal bureaucracy: a survey of building department of the DMC, 1971.Administration for child welfare edited by T.N. Chaturvedi1971
Administration for child welfare. Author(s): Chaturvedi, T.N., ed.– New Delhi: IIPA, 42p.1979
Perspectives of administrative reforms for integrated rural development: India. / by T.N. Chaturvedi. — New Delhi: IIPA, 48p.1980
Secrecy in government. Ed. by T.N. Chaturvedi. 388p.1980
Social administration development and change: essays in honor of Professor V. Jagannadham. Author(s): Kohli Chandra, Shanti ; Chaturvedi, T.N.– New Delhi: IIPA, 440p.1980
Administration for the disabled: policy and organizational issues. / edited by T.N. Chaturvedi. — New Delhi: IIPA, 372p.1981


Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu, President IIPA conferred Shri T.N. Chaturvedi Award for the best Article in the IJPA for the year 2017 to Dr. Amitabh Rajan for his article on “Institutional Dynamics of Governance Reform in India (1991-2016)” published in January-March 2017 issue of IJPA.

IIPA, in association with IIPA Alumni Association, has instituted an Award for Excellence in Public Services. The first award was given this year in the Annual General Meeting on 26th October, 2018, which is carrying a cash award of Rs. One lakh, a citation and a plaque. This year, two organizations working in the area of public services were conferred the award:

Himalayan Environmental Studies and Conservation Organization, Dehradun (Uttarakhand) which is working to prevent the rapid deterioration of the Himalayas as well as devising solutions for the problems of villagers by taping local resources that may open up new avenues for self-reliance.

Eleutheros Christian Society, Nagaland which is working in the remote areas of eastern Nagaland bordering Myanmar, in the field of health, horticulture and livelihood enhancement.